Great Britain wins its first Nations Cup in Fontainebleau

Great Britain wins its first Nations Cup in Fontainebleau

After the draw, France inherited the opener up in the main class of Saturday afternoon, the Nations Cup judged over two rounds, a spot not easy to accomplish.

The team did quite well in the 1st round but British riders realized the perfect score with a double clear in the two rounds, guaranteeing their first success ever in the Nations Cup of Fontainebleau, after their gold medal (team and individual) last year at the European Championships. Germany put pressure on British chef d’equipe Katrina Moore but one fault too many led German team to the final 2nd place.

Ireland and Belgium, for their comeback to Fontainebleau after several years of absence, ended the class with equal score of 16 pts. Denmark and Norway did not start in the 2nd round.

CSIOP Grand Prix: perfect hold-up for the British team, Millie Allen winner of her 2nd Grand Prix

The CSIOP Grand Prix has kept its promises and some surprises. Some riders expected to compete in the jump off have finally failed to pass the first round. But in the end the audience applauded 9 clear rounds and the overwhelming victory of the British team again. They carry a real hold up riding on the three steps of the podium thanks to two already crowned heads at the last year European Championships: indisputable Millie Allen (current European team and individual Champion) with his trusty mare Song Girl and Amy Inglis with Lea du Genier. Their compatriot Faye Adams with Some Like it Hot finished third.

France, with one representative at the jump off, managed to take fourth place with Manon Ravenel and her pony Quessada de la Roque.

CSIP Grand Prix: Pritchard defeats Irish friend Tim MacDonagh for the eighth British victory

The last class of the 2013 edition of the BIP gathered no less than 55 couples from all over Europe. Only two managed to do the first round without penalty and qualify for the jump off, 15 having had to give up before the last fence. The audience witnessed a duel between a British rider – Christie Pritchard – and an Irish rider – Tim MacDonagh. The first to enter into the jump off clenched curves to ensure the best possible clock. Tim could beat but – probably by gallantry – the young Irish crossed the finish line with two seconds. Christie Pritchard and her pony Kilcloghan DG Clover (Irish bred!) have added a victory in the list of achievements of the British delegation. The best French, Felicia Giraud, finished fourth.

Derby CSIP: forza Italia!

For the very first time, Italy won the CSIP Derby on Saturday afternoon, thanks to Diletta Leso and her grey stallion Go Go’s Welcome. She has been the only one to complete the course with no incident. Irish Grace McHugh finished quite far behind (7 seconds and 4 faults) riding her Irish Sport Horse pony Quantum Clover Flight.

BIP Hall of Fame 2013 (class / height / name / country / pony)
Cl.1 Marie-Ange Bonneau Trophy (CSIOP 1,20m) : Philipp Schulze Topphoff (GER) / Don Carlos 185
Cl.2 Marline Trophy (CSIP 1,15m) : Charlie Dawson (GBR) / Raisa Cestanii
Cl.3A AFPC Trophy for 6 y.o. ponies (CSIYP 1,15m) : Sophia Beckmann (GER) / Black Jack 185
Cl.3B AFPC Trophy for 7 y.o. ponies (CSIYP 1,20m) : Thomas Scalabre (FRA) / Sligo de Mormal
Cl.4 Hôtel Victoria Trophy (CSIOP 1,25m) : Synne Ljosland (NOR) / Zorba de Vi
Cl.5 Isuzu Trophy (CSIP 1,20m) : Valentin Fuzeau (FRA) / N’Hectare des Ifs
Cl.6 SIFA 4×4 Trophy (CSIP 1,20m): Claudia Seabra (GBR) / Ilar Max
Cl.7 Equitation Discount Trophy (CSIOP 1,25m): Rachel Houston (IRL) / Blessington Grange Mist
Cl.8A Destrier Trophy for 6 y.o. ponies (CSIYP 1,15m): Cian Collins (IRL) / Carnhill Suzy
Cl.8B Destrier Trophy for 7 y.o. ponies (CSIYP 1,20m): Thomas Scalabre (FRA) / Sligo de Mormal
Cl.9 Mercedes Trophy (CSIP 1,25m): Agathe Line (FRA) / Olabelle de Berce
Cl.10 Derby of Fontainebleau (CSIP 1,25m): Diletta Leso (ITA) / Go Go’s Welcome

Cl.11 Nations Cup (CSIOP 1,35m): 1/ Great Britain 0 pt 2/ Germany 4 pts 3ex/ Belgium & Ireland 16 pts 5/ France 20 pts 6/ Italy 52 pts

Cl.12 Vishay PME Trophy (CSIP 1,20m): Claudia Seabra (GBR) / Ilar Max
Cl.13 FFE Trophy (CSIOP 1,20m): Emilie Ward (GBR) / Wizard VIII
Cl.14A Grand Prix Flags & Cups for 6 y.o. ponies (CSIYP 1,20m): Leah McCrady (GBR) / Westcoast Express
Cl.14B Grand Prix Flags & Cups for 7 y.o. ponies (CSIYP 1,25m): Justine Maerte (FRA)/ Shamrock du Gite

Cl.15 Grand Prix of Fontainebleau (CSIP 1,30m): Christie Pritchard (GBR) / Kilcloghan DG Clover
Cl.16 Grand Prix Privilege Equitation (CSIOP 1,35m): Millie Allen (GBR) / Song Girl


Best female rider on the whole classes: Amy Inglis (GBR)
Best male rider on the whole classes: Lars Volmer (GER)
The fastest rider on the whole classes: Millie Allen (GBR)
The most elegant female rider: Tressy Muhr (FRA)
Best coach: Gian Luca Bormioli for Italy


Best female rider on the whole classes: Diletta Leso (ITA)
Best male rider on the whole classes: Tim MacDonagh (IRL)
The fastest rider on the whole classes: Christie Pritchard (GBR)

Categories: News, Show Jumping