“The best win I’ve ever had” – Matthew Sampson

“The best win I’ve ever had” – Matthew Sampson

Matthew Sampson (GBR) / Gloria van Zuuthhoeve. Photo (c) Stefan Lafrentz

“That is so unbelievable – the audience is extraordinary”, gasped Matthew Sampson breathless. The 27-year-old Brit had moments earlier won the jump-off of the 89th German Jumping Derby, presented by J.J.Darboven, with Gloria van Zuuthoeve and with it, the second stage of the DKB Riders Tour. Similarly jubilant were the horse’s owner David Mcpherson and Matt`s mother, who could hardly stop hugging her son.

Tens of thousands celebrated the Derby newcomer whose biggest achievement thus far had been winning the British Speed Derby in Hickstead. “This here was the best win of my life so far”, acknowledged the overjoyed Derby winner. Sampson made a total of five laps of honour with the twelve-year-old Belgian mare, whom David Mcpherson himself rode in the Derby a few years ago. There was just as much excitement in Hamburg over second place for Gilbert Tillmann (Grevenbroich) and Claus Dieter, who achieved the first fault-free round, and over Eventing Vice Champion Sandra Auffarth from Ganderkesee with Nupafeed`s La Vista, who courageously galloped into third place.

Gilbert Tillmann was unusually melancholy, probably aware that “tomorrow the calls will start again from owners interested in Claus Dieter”. And quite apart from everything else, it was already going to be a special day: His Derby hero – Hello Max – who brought him his longed-for victory in the 2013 German Jumping Derby, is exactly 23 years old today. “In honour of Max I’d have liked to have won today”, laughed Tillmann, “but it’s more important that he’s well”.

“I’ve had so much fun”, concluded Sandra Auffarth, openly admitting that Riders Tour Director Paul Schockemöhle – purely in the spirit of empowering women in showjumping – had given her a couple of useful tips to help her on her way. “I wasn’t quite pushing myself to my limits in Eventing, which is why I looked for new stimuli in Hamburg”, said the World Champion with a wink.

Riders Tour Director Paul Schockemöhle was very satisfied: “We’ve seen very exciting and very high-quality sport, that’s what matters,” And Burkhard Stibbe, Regional Leader of title sponsor DKB, expressed his enthusiasm for the spectators in Hamburg: “There were so many of them who stayed. You don’t get that in other sports. My compliments to the equestrian sports fans in Hamburg.”

Doubles all round in the DKB Riders Tour rankings
In the DKB Riders Tour rankings, following the first two stages of the series, all the positions are now tied: Denis Nielsen, winner of the first leg, shares pole position with Matthew Sampson, Gilbert Tillmann shares his third place ranking with Austria’s Christian Rhomberg, and Sandra Auffarth and Cameron Hanley (Ireland) are sharing fifth place. Matthew Simpson was excited: “Wiesbaden is too soon for us – we want to go to the Hickstead Derby – but I’d really like to ride in the tour stations in Germany. What a great chance that would be if I could…” Sandra Auffarth wants to celebrate first and then make a plan, and for Gilbert Tillmann it all depends on whether there is suitable horse available to him. The third stage in Wiesbaden at the International Whitsun Tournament kicks off on Friday 18th May in the Wiesbaden-Biebrich Palace Park.

Result Deutsches Spring-Derby, 2. Stage DKB-Riders Tour:

1. Matthew Sampson (Great Britain), Gloria van Zuuthoeve, 0/ 50,53

2. Gilbert Tillmann (Germany), Claus Dieter, 4/ 53,62

3. Sandra Auffarth (Germany), Nupafeed`s La Vista, 8/ 46,41

4. Benjamin Wulschner (Germany), Bangkoh Girl PP 4/ 157,13

5. Holly Smith (Great Britain), Quality Old Joker 4/ 158,99

6. Gerald Nothdurft (Germany), Amazing, 4/ 170,03

Ranking DKB-Riders Tour after two stages:

1. Matthew Sampson (Great Britain) 20 Points

1. Denis Nielsen (Germany), 20

3. Gilbert Tillmann (Germany), 17

3. Christian Rhomberg (Austria), 17

5. Sandra Auffarth (Germany), 15

5. Cameron Hanley (Ireland), 15

7. Markus Beerbaum (Germany), 13

7. Benjamin Wulschner (Germany), 13

9. Markus Renzel (Germany) 11

9. Holly Smith (Great Britain),

Categories: News, Show Jumping